Spring Break Treats – Red Velvet Cheesecake

The Cheesecake Factory has the most amazing cheesecake in the world. I will always admit to this. I don’t think I will ever be able to make cheesecake like they do. Last summer my brother-in-law got their red velvet cheesecake for his birthday and it was a hit with the whole family. So, when I saw Wilton’s Red Velvet Cheesecake recipe, I got really excited and knew I had to try it last week when everyone was here. Except, instead of red velvet, I made mine green velvet, mainly because I could. 🙂

As you can see, I didnt have a springform pan so I just baked it in a glass dish. But the recipe calls for four packages of cream cheese and I knew that would be too much for this dish, so I made some mini cheesecakes as well with a muffin pan.

I let the mini cheesecakes bake for an hour with the large cheesecake and then took them out to cool. The recipes calls for the cheesecake to bake for and hour and 15 minutes and then to sit in the oven for another 15 minutes with it off. I only let the big one bake for an hour before turning the oven off.

I think I needed to bake the larger cheesecake for awhile longer but overall, the cheesecakes turned out great. The mini ones disappeared quickly but my sister didn’t realize there was a whole cheesecake there as well so I ate most of that one. :/ I’m not sure how red velvety it tasted, as I don’t eat much red velvet but it was a really good cheesecake. I think that next time I will make Blue Velvet Cheesecake but this is definately a recipes I will try again. Try it and let me know how it goes. Enjoy your weekend y’all! 🙂

(P.S. After previewing this post, I liked the way it inside pictures turned out in the layout even though that isn’t what I had intended.)

Leave a Reply

