Cupcake Pumpkin Patch

I can’t believe I haven’t posted in so many months! I have failed miserably at blogging and sadly this is because I have not been a very good baker. :/ See, when I started this blog in February, I was still looking for a job and so I had plenty of time to bake. Then in July, I finally found a job at Hobby Lobby and for some reason I just haven’t had the energy to bake much in the last few months but I am going to work to change that. In an effort to make myself bake, I bought some food coloring and sprinkles and stuff at work last week. (You would think that since I work in a craft store and get a discount, I would buy tons of baking stuff and bake myself crazy, but that just hasn’t been the case.) The result was these cute pumpkin cupcakes.

They are a little pumpkin patch of cupcakes. 🙂

I used Wilton’s Chocolate Cake recipe and it was very yummy. I baked the cupcakes for 22 minutes and the recipes made almost 3 dozen. For the frosting, I just kind of threw whatever ingredients I had together. I used a stick and half of butter, just under 3 cups of powedered sugar, a teaspoon of vanilla, and about 2 tablespoons of milk. It’s yummy but not enough for all the cupcakes (although I ate one, dropped two and used one for the stems, so in the end I had just enough.)  I frosted as many cupcakes orange as I could and then used the green on the extras. I covered them with sprinkles from the fall sprinkle mix I got at work and added a stem from pieces of cupcakes and a couple of leaves. I love how cute they turned out. Here is a close up of one.

I’m so glad I had a chance to make these and decorate them. I miss baking, and all the other creative things I love that I jsut don’t have the motivation to do. Hopefully, this will be the first of many posts because I miss it and I’m tired of not doing the things I love. I also don’t want to go another four or five months without baking!

Leave a Reply

